7 Apples on a Saturday Night

An apple a day

When I hear the old adage, “An apple a day keeps the Dr. away,” all kinds of mental imagery comes to mind. Like a doctor running away from the person when he sees they’re eating said apple and are glaring at him with that knowing, “I don’t want you here” stare. Or the mom who wags her finger at the child while telling them the apple will cure all ills if they indeed do eat one a day. The message is clear – to be healthy you need to eat healthy, agreed?

Although Jim Rohn’s analogy about 7 apples on a Saturday night seems to be about getting things done, it leads me to another excellent thought at the beginning of a new year, a new chapter in our lives (if we choose it to be). Just as our bodies need consistent nutrition, so does our mind need constant healthy input so as not to become sick, unhealthy or to stagnate.  Garbage in, garbage out, right?

Some things you have to do every day. Eating seven apples on Saturday night instead of one a day just isn’t going to get the job done. ~ Jim Rohn

If you were to eat 7 apples on a Saturday night before the new week begins, you would likely shake your head in wonderment at your own nonsense thought process. Who the heck eats 7 apples all at once thinking it will do them for the week? Not only would you be stuffed to the gills, but you’d feel gross and your body would not be able to absorb the nutrition as it would in steady, healthy doses. Your sugar levels would also be in an altered state!

So too, cramming our brains all in one sitting expecting it to last indefinitely is simply insanity. How can we expect to absorb what we’ve taken in, to help us or change us? University students should be perfect examples of how it doesn’t work. Cram cram cram, exam exam exam – and then whew, the deed is done and the actual remembering of the material is often no longer a priority. Got the job done, move on.

As I’ve heard so many say at the beginning of 2013, we need to find staying power for our commitments. Even though they’re all in one basket, here are ‘7 Apples’ I’m committing to daily to affect change in my brain world. These can be chewed on over time, repeatedly, until the nutrition is fully absorbed! Maybe they’re Apples you can try. Are there any Apples you can share that may make a difference for or add value to those reading? Please do!

  1. Gradually get up earlier (baby steps for this non-morning person!) to allow ‘holy hour’ time before my day starts as Robin Sharma talks about in his audio book, The Greatness Guide. This may include reading, listening to positive material, writing or any other ‘get the day started right’ activity that is meaningful to me.
  2. 20 minute walk in the morning without my phone, just to think.
  3. Journal any positive thoughts that cross my mind that may encourage or inspire others.
  4. Share those thoughts with my children so they can benefit as well, not just my adult relationships.
  5. Compliment someone, somewhere, about something they do or are that makes a difference in my life. This does not include saying ‘I love you’. This is an intentional observation about the strengths or gifts in those I come across throughout the day.
  6. De-clutter something – even if it’s a drawer – every day so I create a peaceful, serene atmosphere for me and my family. Clutter sucks the life out of me.
  7. Do one thing that ‘fills my lamp’ like a quick conversation with my Mom, a coffee without any distractions, or a cuddle with one of my kids.

Your turn!

, , , , , , , ,

  1. 7 Apples on a Saturday Night | Hope Springs New | shandracarlson
  2. 7 Apples on a Saturday Night | Dreams are So Overrated | shandracarlson

Leave a comment

  • Click to subscribe if you\'d like to receive Shandra\'s posts via email.

  • Join me on Twitter

  • JMT Seal
  • Soul Massage

    "Here's to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round heads in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They're not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify, or vilify them. But the only thing you can't do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do." ~ Jack Kerouac