Bird Brain or Crazy Freak?

Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” ~ Albert Einstein

Does that pigeon make you laugh because you can visualize yourself just like him some days?

Have you ever felt like I do sometimes – like WHY can’t I get my act together in certain areas? I am pretty good with not losing my car keys, but trips back into the house because I forgot this or that? Ummm, yah.

I shake my head when I have those stern conversations with myself, “THIS will never happen again!” Until tomorrow – when it does.

Wyle E. Coyote goes berzerk

I would like to acknowledge the person who created this Crazy Freak graphic…but ummm…I can’t find where I wrote it down! 😉

One of my favourite sayings is, “Lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on mine!” I have been known to run around in circles <the odd time> like that pigeon, creating my own emergencies, only to fall flat on my face.

I know what it takes to make those tiny little changes to make life run smoother, and quite honestly I’ve come a long way in many respects. I rally back and forth between acknowledging my progress and seeing how far I have to go.

This little birdie, however, and the guy who took the time to video him, have given me a moment of laughter while I consider my quest for life lived fully. A little chuckle at myself along with the visual of it being ME running in circles like that bird make for great moments when people look at me strangely, wondering why I have a stupid smirk on my face.

SO, next time I’m tempted to turn off the alarm or leave the house without checking that I have all I need – the image of that poor pigeon falling on his face after his little circular dance won’t be very far from my thoughts! Looks pretty dumb (albeit funny), but he is a bird brain. I. Am. Not.

Insanity runs in my family. It practically gallops.” ~ Cary Grant

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Candace on October 10, 2012 - 8:18 am

    OMG that bird made me laugh….and dizzy 😉 It’s hard to change our stripes, isn’t it?

    • #2 by shandracarlson on October 10, 2012 - 9:12 am

      When my daughter showed me that video, I HAD to find something to relate/write about. Didn’t have to think too hard! 😉 Thanks for taking time to read, Candace!

Leave a Reply

  • Click to subscribe if you'd like to receive Shandra's posts via email.

  • Join me on Twitter

  • JMT Seal
  • Soul Massage

    "Here's to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round heads in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They're not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify, or vilify them. But the only thing you can't do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do." ~ Jack Kerouac
