Merry C-H-R-I-S-T-M-A-S. So there!

It never ceases to amaze me, this North American mindset of ours. We embrace every other culture, race, creed, belief. We travel the world to experience the wonders that are ours to discover and enjoy. In those travels, I do not believe we enter those countries expecting them to change their customs, the holidays they observe, or their beliefs – just because we’ve arrived. NO! We expect them to share their culture, teach us their ways, experience what they experience. Go figure.

Then. There’s. Us. Please, don’t dare offend anyone….else. Let’s just put expectations on ourselves to change and eliminate whatever may appear (according to us) displeasing to those who do not share our history, our culture, what the foundation of our country stems from. Go figure.

Let’s eliminate any semblance of a ‘holiday’ that celebrates a person’s belief – at least if it’s of a Christian nature. Let’s not include Easter or Christmas with Ramadan, Hanukkah,  Hajj, Lohri or even St. Patrick’s Day (please don’t mess with this one because we get to drink green beer!).

Do not misunderstand me. If you take a moment to find out where my passion lies on my Living On Strengths page, you will quickly recognize that I love people. All people. I thrive on diversity and relationship. I have a beautiful friend in Pakistan and would greatly love to see how life is experienced there. I have another friend in Australia, and think it would be great fun to find out what makes them tick in the ‘down under’.

I just think we’re such a weird breed when we think we have the right to, and should, squelch or cut out Christian celebrations here, but would never dream to ask another country to do the same. In my observation we’re certainly not the all-inclusive melting pot we claim to be, or even used to be. Pretty petty when you think about it, that North America goes through this uproar annually and the media uses it as a story line year in and year out, this stupid controversy. How about we just shut up and go serve dinner at a homeless shelter or pack shoe boxes to send to kids less fortunate overseas? I don’t know, maybe next time I talk to my Muslim friends I’ll ask them to replace the name of their Ramadan observance with, “Complete Fast during the Day Month”. Really?

All I want for Christmas is to freely be able to say…..Merry Christmas! That is all.

* I am unsure of the origin of the attached comic but thank whoever created and shared it.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Michael on December 24, 2011 - 1:59 am

    Merry Christmas and many Divine Blessings. Michael.

    • #2 by shandracarlson on December 24, 2011 - 2:05 am

      Thank you for taking time out of your day to read, Michael! Merry Christmas and many Divine Blessings to you as well. Shandra

  2. #3 by Judy Schmidt on December 27, 2011 - 9:49 am

    Merry Merry Christmas Shandra. Well said.

    • #4 by shandracarlson on December 27, 2011 - 10:49 am

      Thanks Judy, hope your Christmas was very very Merry too!

  3. #5 by M. Bowen on December 27, 2011 - 10:23 am

    Melanie here! I enjoyed this piece, please email me–I have a question about your blog. MelanieLBowen[at]gmail[dot]com

Leave a Reply

  • Click to subscribe if you'd like to receive Shandra's posts via email.

  • Join me on Twitter

  • JMT Seal
  • Soul Massage

    "Here's to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round heads in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They're not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify, or vilify them. But the only thing you can't do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do." ~ Jack Kerouac
