I Drive Myself Nuts

Sometimes I wish my head would just shut up. Why is it that I seem to find a story, analogy or metaphor in almost everything? Can’t I just live and not have to see lessons in even the simplest things?

I took my 8 year old daughter for a haircut before school started. She hasn’t had one in over a year and I finally convinced her that a trim would help get it into a healthier state, and would also help it grow faster. She has fine, thin hair and it was hanging in, around, and quite simply all over her face. It was stringy, unkempt and it looked like her mama didn’t look after her. She didn’t care, she just wanted really long hair.

On the drive to the salon my little girl decided she wanted short bangs and her hair cut shorter, back up to her shoulders. I told her she needed to really think about it and not make a decision she’d regret. I was 100% certain she’d change her mind and stick with her current style, or lack thereof! Then we looked through the magazines to see if there was something she liked. Ah yes, every photo she pointed to was of the short bang/shoulder length variety.

When she was transformed from straggly to styled, there were several reactions and thoughts. Her eyes ‘popped’ and looked so sparkly and alive. Her long eyelashes stood out because you could actually see them! She looked so neat and tidy, and she was ecstatic with her choice. I could tell she felt beautiful – her smile said it all.

Where’s the analogy? I couldn’t help but think about my own state of being. When things are chaotic and disheveled I can’t focus properly, kind of like not being able to see through the crazy hair. I feel messed up and ineffective. I can keep brushing it aside but it’s back in seconds, wasting my time and energy only to brush it aside over and over again. Things that should only take a couple minutes end up being monumental because of the constant attempt to remove those things that are in the way. What’s the definition of insanity? Oh yah, doing the same thing repeatedly expecting a different result.

When life is in sync, ordered and under control, everything seems brighter, easier to handle and I can see more clearly. I’m not blinded by those things that are keeping me from truly seeing, nor do I miss moments because I’m constantly trying to get things out of the way. My sense of overwhelm is greatly reduced and you can see peace in my eyes instead of frustration….and maybe my eyelashes stand out a little more too!

All that from a simple haircut. I really do drive myself nuts sometimes.

Food for Thought

Yesterday is a cancelled cheque; tomorrow is a promissory note; today is the only cash you have – so spend it wisely.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by NFord on September 12, 2011 - 11:01 pm

    So glad I’m not the only one to do this…

  2. #2 by Judy Schmidt on September 19, 2011 - 9:22 am

    You aren’t crazy – you’re beautiful!

Leave a Reply

  • Click to subscribe if you'd like to receive Shandra's posts via email.

  • Join me on Twitter

  • JMT Seal
  • Soul Massage

    "Here's to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round heads in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They're not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify, or vilify them. But the only thing you can't do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do." ~ Jack Kerouac
